Cox Media Group recruits J.P Hannan veteran finance exec as Executive VP and Chief Financial Officer. Hannan, who’s previous experience includes serving as VP, Treasurer and CFO for Cumulus Media, joins CMG from AutoWeb, where he was EVP/Chief Financial Officer for the past two years.

“J.P. is a seasoned executive with decades of highly diverse, very hands-on operational experience in media as a Chief Financial Officer with companies ranging from start-up and turnaround environments to large scale, publicly traded enterprises,” President/CEO Dan York said in a release. “His proven and unmatched expertise will serve us well, as we lead CMG in the next phase of our growth.”

Hannan brings to CMG three decades of experience in all aspects of corporate finance and financial planning across media and technology. According to the release, he has completed $5 billion in deal-making and financing transactions as CFO; realized $250 million of post-deal operational synergies across 16 separate transactions; and implemented numerous systems for financial and human capital management.

“This is an exciting time to be joining CMG and I am energized by the potential for enhanced growth and value creation given the well-respected and dynamic content, products and people CMG is known for,” Hannan added. “I look forward to working with the team to drive a clear focus on delivering strong results that will help CMG continue to grow and gather momentum as an innovative industry leader that is shaping the future of media.”

In addition to his most recent position and his time at Cumulus Media, which he exited in 2016, Hannan also held positions at Lincoln Financial Media and Social Reality. He began his career with privately held Lambert Television, where he served in a variety of roles including Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer.

Hannan currently serves as the Chairman of the Board of Trustees at Chrysalis Fund, Inc. and is a National Voting Member of the Emmy Awards for the Academy of Television, Arts & Sciences. He is a former committee delegate of the Radio Music License Committee.