Radio Hall of Fame

The Radio Hall of Fame has announced this year’s 24 nominees in a total of six categories. Industry voting in four of those categories begins Monday, July 13. Listener voting in the other two categories begins on July 20. Due to COVID-19 health and safety concerns, the 2020 induction ceremony will be a live radio broadcast from multiple locations this October. The exact date and additional details will be announced along with the inductees later this summer.

“2020 marks 100 years of radio and, while we regret that we cannot hold an in-person event this year, we’re looking forward to the excitement of a live, multi-location radio broadcast,” said Kraig Kitchin, Chair of the Radio Hall of Fame. “I want to thank Dennis Green, Chair of this year’s Nominating Committee, and all the radio professionals who are volunteering their time and expertise to the difficult task of selecting inductees from such an impressive list.”

Green, Chief Revenue Officer of Sun & Fun Media and Key Networks, added, “I look forward to working with the Committee and to honoring the 2020 Radio Hall of Fame inductees during the special live radio broadcast.”

The RHOF says nominees were determined by the organization’s Nominating Committee, following suggestions from radio professionals across the industry. The nominees in the four industry-voted categories will be voted on by a voting participant panel comprised of 600 industry professionals, who will receive confidential ballots from online voting service Votem. The winners in the two listener-voted categories will be determined by the public, who will also vote via Votem, and the Radio Hall of Fame Nominating Committee. The outcome of the listener vote will count as one vote among the committee votes. The votes will be monitored by certified public accounting firm Miller Kaplan Arase. Inductees will be announced on Aug. 17. Premiere Networks has signed on as this year’s first sponsor of the live broadcast.

Nominees To Be Voted On By Voting Participant Panel:

Longstanding Local/Regional (20 years or more)

Mark & Brian - KLOS-FM

Bobby Rich-KFMB-FM San Diego & KMXZ-FM Tucson

Bob Rivers-KJR-FM Seattle

Donnie Simpson-WMMJ-FM Washington D.C.

Active Local/Regional (10 years or more)

Angie Martinez-WWPR-FM New York City

Matt Siegel-WXKS-FM Boston

Elliot Segal-WWDC-FM Washington D.C.

Bob Stroud-WDRV-FM Chicago

Longstanding Network/Syndication (20 years or more)

Sid Mark-Host, Sounds of Sinatra

Joey Reynolds-Host, WOR Radio Network

Cokie Roberts-Political Reporter, NPR

Suzyn Waldman-New York Yankees Radio Network

Active Network/Syndication (10 years or more)

The Breakfast Club-Charlamagne Tha God, Angela Yee, DJ Envy, Premiere Networks

Larry Elder-Salem Radio Network

Jaime Jarrin-Los Angeles Dodgers Network

Kim Komando-Host, Kim Komando Show, Westar Radio Network

Nominees To Be Voted On By Listeners/Radio Hall Of Fame Nominating Committee:

Music Format On-Air Personality

Whitney Allen-The Big Time with Whitney Allen, Westwood One

Bob & Sheri-The Bob and Sheri Show, Westwood One

Sway Calloway-Sirius XM Shade 45 Channel

John Boy & Billy-The John Boy & Billy Show, Premiere Networks

Spoken Word On-Air Personality

Glenn Beck-The Glenn Beck Show, Premiere Networks

John & Ken-The John & Ken Show, KFI-AM Los Angeles

Stephanie Miller-The Stephanie Miller Show, WYD Media

Wait Wait...Don't Tell Me-NPR