CumulusStacked2019

After originally planning to air an 8-minute and 46-second audio tribute to George Floyd on the company’s urban-formatted stations, Cumulus Media aired the tribute on its entire roster of 424 stations in 87 markets at 1pm on Tuesday, June 9th.

“People are tired. They want change now. They want peace now,” VP/Urban Formats Kenny Smoov said in a release. “It is a beautiful thing to see people from outside of the African American community and from all over the world coming together to say enough. Let's be the living generation that ends systemic racism.”

Rev. Al Sharpton will be on Premiere Networks-syndicated “The Steve Harvey Morning Show” Tuesday before delivering the eulogy at George Floyd’s funeral service. Sharpton will also discuss plans for the upcoming March on Washington, on what will be the 57th anniversary of the historic demonstration for civil rights.

Meanwhile, in a similar vein, more than 100 community radio stations nationwide plan to play Sam Cooke’s “A Change Is Gonna Come” Tuesday at 3pm (ET), 2pm (CT) and 12pm (PT). The nationwide remembrance and playing of the Civil Rights anthem was organized by the National Federation of Community Broadcasters (NFCB).

“As our country deals with the hurt and outrage of what happened to George Floyd, these stations are in their communities, feeling this sorrow too, together will play a song to speak as a unified voice for change, justice and love,” NFCB Program Director Ernesto Aguilar said, according to The Atlanta Voice.

Clark Atlanta University “Jazz 91.9” WCLK is among radio stations planning to broadcast the song. A full list of participating radio stations can be viewed HERE.