national lampoon radio hour220

The National Lampoon Radio Hour, being revived as a weekly podcast, will also have a video component. The producers say they will include cameras to capture the performances of the cast recording the show with the videos posted on the National Lampoon’s website and YouTube.

The release date for the initial 11-episode run has been announced. The first episode is set to be released Dec. 19 in partnership between National Lampoon and the Forever Dog Podcast Network. The cast of young comedians was announced earlier. It includes Rachel Pegram (The Week Of, Don’t Think Twice), Brett Davis (Our Cartoon President, The Special Without Brett Davis), Maeve Higgins (Extra Ordinary, Maeve in America Podcast), Alex English (The Rundown with Robin Thede), Lorelei Ramirez (Los Espookys’, Broad City), Megan Stalter (The Megan Stalter Show), Aaron Jackson (The Opposition with Jordan Klepper) and Martin Urbano (Jimmy Kimmel Live!, Comedy Central’s Featuring).

The National Lampoon Radio Hour is being executive produced by Forever Dog’s Joe Cilio, Alex Ramsey and Brett Boham, and National Lampoon’s Evan Shapiro. Cole Escola serves as head writer and executive producer. Jo Firestone is senior writer and producer. And the video series is being directed by Brandon Tamburri and Tracy Soren. 

 “The National Lampoon Radio Hour is an institution. These inmates do it proud,” said Evan Shapiro, President of National Lampoon.

The original Radio Hour launched on broadcast radio in November 1973 as a weekly, nationally syndicated sketch comedy radio show. It aired on 600 stations but failed to attract the support of advertisers who were worried about its content. It lasted just 13 months.